Vedic Astrology & Jyotisha Sastra


I would like to explain about Vedic Astrology & Jyotisha Sastra, after one of my readers asked me, ‘Are you Vedic Astrologer?’I replied, ‘Yes, I am a Vedic astrologer. Do you know what Vedic astrology is?’

He said, ‘I don’t know, I asked because I have heard others saying that Vedic astrologer has more knowledge than ordinary astrologer’.

I told him that all astrologers following ‘Jyotish Sastra‘ can be known as Vedic astrologers. As far as knowledge is concerned, it depends on their personal skills, ability and experience.

To explain him further, I had asked him to read my next post on Vedic astrology, so that others will also be benefited through his question on Vedic astrology.

Astrology is the study of celestial bodies i.e. planets and stars and its influence on human beings. In India, ‘Astrology’ is known as ‘Jyotish Sastra‘. Before discussing Jyotish or Jyotisha Sastra, let us understand how it came into existence.

We have four Vedas in our Hindu tradition. The Sanskrit meaning of Vedas is knowledge / wisdom. This knowledge is in the form of verses, mantras and hymns. Vedas were divided into four.

They are as follows:

1. Rig Veda
2. Yajur Veda
3. Sama Veda
4. Atharvana Veda

Six vedangas were created in support of four Vedas. These vedangas are known as limbs of Veda. They are as follows:

1. Shiksha
2. Kalpa
3. Vyakarana
4. Nirukta
5. Chandas
6. Jyotisha

Jyotisha Sastra is the science of celestial bodies i.e. planets and stars. It is the study of time based on astronomical calculations. Since the ‘Jyotisha Sastra’ was created to support Vedas and continued its journey from the Vedic period, it is known as Vedic Astrology in the English language.
The below chart is drawn for easy understanding of my readers.








Back to Vedic Astrology

You may also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *